Chops, Chang’s, Cats

Another week in the books! Some new meals, as usual, and some eventful days. We started last week with Teriyaki-Glazed Grilled Pork Chops with Pineapple Salsa. I’m not a big pork chop fan, but the sauce and sweetness of the pineapple pleased my sweet tooth. This recipe had a lot of ingredients — most of which you probably already have in your spice cabinet.

Here it is! Photo credit and presentation to Taylor.

IMG_3366

We anxiously awaited the weekend because Friday night was date night! Once a month we always splurge and go to P.F. Changs. I’m sure some would say,”You splurge on P.F. Changs?!” It’s true. There aren’t many good Chinese restaurants around here and those who know me well, know I love me some Chinese. Plus, they have a great deal for two and we can’t pass that up. So we had a nice dinner by the bar where Taylor got his new favorite drink, a Moscow Mule, and I got the Red Sangria. After dinner we headed to the movies to see American Sniper. I won’t spoil the movie, but I am a big fan. I don’t really go for the shoot ’em up, bang ’em up movies, but this movie also had an emotional side to it and really captured my attention. It is a long movie, but in the end it was worth it. Despite its controversy, I think it ranks as one of the best films in the past twelve months. Taylor suggested Call of Duty be in my future, but I doubt that. This movie will last me awhile in the war/action genre.

Saturday was game day for the Cats! We slept in and then decided that instead of going out to watch the game somewhere we would host our first little gathering. It was a beautiful day out so we made a pitstop at the Arboretum for a walk then headed for the store. Our menu consisted of the usual chips and salsa, guacamole, Caliente Bean and Queso Dip, Loaded Nacho Potato Skins, and lots of beer. These snacks are still from the same recipe book we have been working out of since the beginning of this blog. So we had a few friends over, drank some beer, ate delicious snacks, and watched our Cats dominate Alabama.

Sunday Brunch Day! We met Morgan at a Lexington favorite, Wild Eggs, for brunch. (Colorado Crew might know this place too!). We had Mimosas and devoured some eggs, pancakes and potatoes! I think it is a new favorite spot that we will have to make a regular outing. After spending three hours at the eye doctor that day I can now say I am a part of the contact lenses world! After about a half hour I finally got them and am slowly transitioning to them, and I am happy to not have glasses sitting on my face all day. My dad was happy to know my eyes hadn’t changed too much since I still have a ways to go till I meet his eye sight.

Some of us did not get the benefit of having the day off today, but I just have to remember I got time and a half and Taylor brought me lunch today. He made his own buffalo chicken nuggets with salad. Quite the lunch at work! Today we got another wonderful walk at the arboretum and made some Parmesan-crusted Tilapia with broccoli and rice for dinner!

IMG_3376

It’s Bachelor night! Mondays I always go to my friend Sarah’s house to watch the Bachelor for some girl time and Taylor gets to catch up on his shows – works out well for us.

Cat photo of the week. After we had people over on Saturday, we were an old couple and passed out by ten. Rory fell asleep on also-sleeping Taylor’s legs but had a hard time keeping his head up.

IMG_3375

Hope everyone has a good week! Talk to you all next week.

Lovelier, happier, and more alive.

-Jennifer

Leave a Reply

